CEDS Eligibility
Share |


After purchasing the CEDS-certification exam you are immediately eligible to sit for the exam. Candidates have one year from the date of purchase to take and pass the CEDS exam. However, in addition to passing the CEDS exam you must submit the following documentation in order to earn the CEDS credential. Any person who has passed the CEDS exam without completing the supporting documentation will be a CEDS in waiting. CEDS in waiting have a period of up to 90 days of successfully completing the examination to turn in the supporting documentation earning them the CEDS credential.

The following is required to earn the credential CEDS.

1. Document at least 40 CEDS credits in e-discovery and closely related fields based on experience, training, and professional certifications in the field.

2. Provide two professional references with contact information. The following table explains the three categories in which you are able to obtain CEDS credits. Please note that you must document your credits before earning the CEDS credential.

1. Professional Experience (Maximum 20 credits allowed)

Calculate the percentage of time you spent on e-discovery and related activities in the three (3) consecutive years prior to submission of the CEDS application. Multiply this percentage by 20 credits. (% Time Spent on E-Discovery x 20). This is documented by listing your employer and previous employers as need be along with your job tasks.

2. Education (Maximum 15 credits allowed)

Choose one degree because they are not cumulative. They may be documented by either taking a photo of your degree or submitting your transcripts.

A High school or GED equivalent 5 Credits
B Associate degree or equivalent 7 Credits
C Bachelor’s degree or equivalent 10 Credits
D Post-graduate or Juris Doctor degree 15 Credits

3. Training (Maximum 25 credits allowed)

Web Seminars, Live training, Panels, Internal training, ACEDS training and more can be used to count towards CEDS credits. You must document your training credit(s) by either presenting a certificate of attendance along with the date and length of the course, in hours or by naming the course, instructor, place of event, date and time. Internal training should be documented in the same fashion with the signature of the supervisor who conducted the training.

A. One (1) CEDS credit is equivalent to 60 minutes of continuous training at one event.

B. Covers e-discovery and related training within the past three (3) consecutive years prior to submission of the CEDS application.

C. Five (5) credits are allowed for each professional certification that is related or relevant to e-discovery, subject to a maximum of two (2) certifications allowed. (Examples of recognized certifications are: Membership by an attorney in a state bar association, Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Certified Records Manager (CRM), Certified Internal Auditor (CIA), Certified Legal Assistant (CLA), Certified Paralegal (CP), Project Management Professional (PMP) and Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)).

Approved Credentials & Continuing Education

Below is a list of approved certifications that will count towards the eligibility criteria of the candidate application.

Professional Education

  • Paralegal (2 or 4 years)
  • Juris Doctorate
  • PhD – Doctor of Philosophy
  • MBA – Masters in Business Administration
  • CS - Bachelor of Computer Science


  • Licensed Attorney
  • RP (Registered Paralegal)
  • CP (Certified Paralegal)
  • CPA (Certified Public Accountant)

Certifications or Certificates

  • Advanced Professional Certificate in Investigative Practice
  • Arkfeld’s E-Discovery Training Certificate
  • CBAP - Certified Business Analysis Professional
  • CCE - Certified Computer Examiner
  • CEH-EC-Council
  • Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)
  • Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)
  • Certified Legal Assistant (CLA)
  • CFCE - Certified Forensic Computer Examiner
  • CISSP-ISC-Squared
  • CRM (Certified Records Manage)
  • ECSA-EC-Counsel
  • Ediscovery Institute Certificate
  • E-Discovery Team Training Certificate (Ralph Losey)
  • FBI Computer Forensic Examiner Certification
  • FBI UNIX Examiner Certification
  • GCFE - GIAC Certified Computer Examiner SANS
  • Graduate Certificate in E-Discovery (Bryan University)
  • LPI – Licensed Private Investigator
  • MPSC – Mobile Phone Seizure Certification
  • PMP – Project Management Professional
  • Project Management Professional (PMP)
  • SSCP-ISC-Squared
  • The eDiscovery Training Academy — Georgetown Law

E-Discovery Product Specific Certifications

  • ACE - AccessData Certified Examiner 
  • CCFA – Concordance Certified FYI Administrator
  • CCSA – Clearwell Certified Systems Administrator
  • CCST – Concordance Certified Software Trainer
  • Cellebrite Certified Physical Examiner
  • Encase Forensics Intermediate
  • EnCE – EnCase Certified Examiner
  • ICECA – IPRO Certified eCapture Administrator
  • ICPM – iCONECT Certified Project Manager
  • ICPSA – IPRO Certified Premium Scan Administrator
  • ICSA – iCONECT Certified Systems Administrator
  • LAW Administrator Certification
  • MSAB .XRY Certification
  • Nuix Trained Administrator
  • Nuix eDiscovery Certification
  • RCA – Relativity Certified Administrator
  • RCSP – Relativity Certified Sales Professional
  • Ringtail Certified Technician 
  • SCCM - Summation Certified Case Manager
  • SCE - Summation Certified End User
  • SCST – Summation Certified Software Trainer
  • SDT – Summation Data Technician
  • ZyLAB Certified Review Specialist
  • ZyLAB Certified Legal Review Application Administrator

IT Related Certification

  • A+
  • Citrix 4.0 Admin
  • ITIL Foundation 2011
  • MCP + Internet
  • MCSE
  • Microsoft Certified Security Engineer
  • Network+ - Network Installation and
  • Security Plus CompTIA

What our customers say?

©2018 Association of Certified E-Discovery Specialists
All Rights Reserved