Becoming a Certified Specialist in E-Discovery (CEDS)

The CEDS™ credential responds to the need for an objective, verifiable measurement of skill in an area of high risk and high costs. It also facilitates sound hiring practices and gives a competitive advantage to individuals and employers.

ACEDS verifies knowledge and skill through the Certified E-Discovery Specialist (CEDS™) certification, which is awarded to candidates who meet specified eligibility criteria and pass a rigorous examination that is administered at secure testing centers around the world. The CEDS designation lets those who earn it stand out from their peers, validate their expertise and advance their careers.

Live Help

Once certification candidates are registered for the CEDS examination, they receive the CEDS Exam Preparation Manual, which not only helps them prepare for the exam but also teaches e-discovery best practices to assist them in reducing risks and costs in their work. CEDS certified professionals tell us they were helped in their job by studying the CEDS Manual.


Areas of Focus of the CEDS Examination

The CEDS certification exam probes 15 e-discovery fields as selected by a global taskforce of e-discovery specialists and validated by a worldwide ACEDS-sponsored survey. They include:

Information Management and Litigation Readiness Data Production
Project Planning Project Management
Litigation Hold Implementation Legal Framework and Obligation
Collection Planning and Implementation International Discovery
Data Processing Ethics
Data Culling Technology
Review Planning Budgeting
Document Review

Download the CEDS Examination Candidate Handbook for complete testing information.